Curriculum Information

The City School International – Dubai follows the National Curriculum for England in non-core subjects and the Cambridge Curriculum for the core subject areas of English, Mathematics and Science.


The National Curriculum for England

This curriculum, commonly known as the British National Curriculum, is extensively used by international schools around the world. It is a detailed, planned and integrated scheme covering a child’s whole school experience, from the age of 3 to 18. It is a skill-based curriculum, aided by excellent textbooks and resources, with its own testing mechanism. It fits into the English public examination system (IGCSE), which is accepted by universities throughout the world.TCSI caters to the needs of children aged 4 to 16.


Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

“Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them. Development is not an automatic process, however. It depends on each unique child and having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments.”


At TCSI, we value Early Years Education and recognise the impact of a child’s early experiences upon their future learning. We believe our Early Years programme provides a stimulating, secure and fun environment for children aged 3 to 5, where they can grow in confidence and become independent, achieving skills which will allow them to become lifelong learners. We plan and organise a system to ensure that every child receives an enjoyable and challenging learning experience that is tailored to meet their individual needs. Our practitioners carry out regular observations of your child, using the information gathered to plan activities which reflect your child’s interests and abilities. These observations cover all areas of development within the EYFS, as well as recording special moments or your child’s response to certain activities. Observations are recorded in the child’s learning journey, a document which highlights the child’s development and provides you with a record of your child’s time at school for years to come.


There are four themes within the EYFS:


The new Early Years Foundation Stage was introduced in March 2011 for implementation in all settings by September 2102. Strands within the seven areas of learning have identifiable links to the National Curriculum at Key Stage 1, but the emphasis of the Foundation Stage curriculum is on learning through play.


At TCSI we follow the Curriculum Guidance for the Foundation Stage; it is divided into seven areas of learning – the ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’ which we feel embody our approach to learning.


The prime areas begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS.


Prime Areas of Learning
They are:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


Specific Areas of Learning
The specific areas of learning include essential skills and knowledge. They are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design


We believe that children succeed in an environment where everyone knows what is expected of them, and where children are free to explore and learn, without the fear of getting hurt or being hindered by anyone else. We aim to work towards a setting in which children can develop their self-discipline and self-esteem in an atmosphere of mutual respect and encouragement. For this, we set clear boundaries and will, through simple ground rules, maintain consistency for our children.


We promote a healthy lifestyle and by meeting the physical, cognitive and emotional needs of our children, we create a clean and safe environment for them to thrive in.